Nooks and crannies

When I was making my choices on where to go for university, I really tried hard to move away from Manchester. It helped that UoM didn’t do the type of course I thought I wanted, but really, I didn’t want to stay in Manchester.

Part of it must have been because I’d never really wandered anywhere past the Arndale shopping mall, full of the same old shops. Maybe if I had seen the Manchester that I know now, things would have been different. Leaving definitely makes you appreciate home.


DSC_0019 DSC_0020

I met up with a few friends from college and we had a hankering for good food. Terrace is quite literally a hole in the wall next to Teacup, one of my favourite coffee shops in the Northern Quarter. Nothing outside tells you what it is except the door into a corridor leading through to the other side of the street.

Inside, it’s dark, filled with odd bits of furniture and low hanging lights, definitely my kind of place! The food was good, although the burger a little on the small side. It was cooked to perfection and the fries weren’t bad either!
DSC_0025

We then found this place Hannah mentioned called Twenty Twenty two. You’d miss it if you weren’t looking, heck, I missed it when I was looking. It’s in this tiny little alley off Dale st. The place is huge, and through the back there are four table tennis tables. Some may see it as a gimmick, but I absolutely love it, adds a new (top)spin to chilling out at your local!. We paid for half an hour but because it was dead, we played for well over an hour.

DSC_0027 DSC_0032A camp buddy was over in manchester and discovered this wonderful place called Almost famous burger. The burgers pile high with cheese, onion rings, bacon, everything your mind can think of. It’s the only place I’ve ever been to where the fries are pretty much a main on their own, drizzled with cheese, bacon, onions and chilli. Then the desserts, goodness me. Visit.

Manchester, you’re great.

 

B

 

Lemme know what you think!