TAP

I’ve always walked past this black, nondescript, unassuming building on Tottenham Court Road, and despite my habitual liking of coffee shops, never thought to actually try it. I’ve come to notice a general convention around here, the less branding something has, generally the more expensive the product. Thus, my assumptions always prevented me from venturing therein, afraid that I wouldn’t last very long once I saw the price! However, today I met up with a couple of people and it was pretty quiet so we thought we’d give it a go. One word, wow.

I’ve discussed the slightly tricky relationship between myself and coffee before, and it’s often the case that coffee, being the main selling point, is also the main focus of the barista as they craft drinks. However, TAP’s moderately priced (£2.8) hot chocolate was probably one of the best I’ve ever had. They didn’t faff about with steamed milk art, they didn’t offer me whipped cream, chocolate powder or any other bells and whistles, they just brought it out in a small, black cup. It was thick, sweet, with a fullness that lasted through to the very last drop.

DSC_1019 DSC_1022DSC_0296

They also have the (second to The Wren) most generous and by far best designed loyalty card I have ever seen! The cyclist is actually a stamp! Praises all round, TAP.

B

Lemme know what you think!

