Weekly photo challenge – Work of Art

Apologies for the hiatus, but it’s official, I am once again a free man!

I am, however, suspended in an odd state of revision limbo where I feel at a loss without the structure of an exam timetable and the fear thereof, but I’m sure this will give way to a passive laziness very soon!

This week’s photo challenge is very late, but it was on a fun subject so I thought to nip it before it went. Before becoming a medical student, I really wanted to become a concept artist. This is the refrain of a lot of people who are in science careers and they’ll give you lots of reasons as to why they didn’t pursue the arts. Mine? My dad told me to! Well, ok, that’s not the whole reason, despite my constant moaning I do really enjoy medicine (really!) but my parents did influence my choice of degree. Do I resent them? At the time they gave me advice in completely the opposite direction to what I thought I wanted to do, maybe, now, definitely not!

The problem is, I think that oftenI fall in love with the idea of being a concept art designer or a graphic designer. When I get really into making a logo or a project I think, how fun would this be as my 9-5? But I think, for me, having to churn out idea after idea, is not only stressful from the creativity point of view, but it might make each piece of work slightly less special and more, well, work!

That isn’t to say I neglect my inner arts student. In fact, I probably indulge him more than my outer medical student! Having no exams means I get to do stuff that is really lavish, like make sunday roasts, take day long aimless walks around London and draw. I love drawing because of the time you have to commit to it, and so you only do it when you have time,  therefore I’m always in a good place when I whip out the Moleskine! My current favourite is this sketch of one of Charles Hildreth’s portraits:

DSC_0934

 

It isn’t perfect, and I’ve definitely got a long way to go in terms of capturing emotion in faces, but I’m quite happy with it so far!

Let the artistic hedonism begin!

Check out the rest of this week’s entries here

 

B

 

2 comments

  1. mithriluna · May 22, 2014

    Wow! Beautiful Bryan! You definitely are talented!

    Like

Lemme know what you think!

