Something I thought I would never do…

Yesterday was a very stressful time, pro tip – never leave stuff to the last minute, ever! 

In what I can only describe as a zombie-like stupor due to being locked up in the house for four weeks, I stumbled hungrily into my kitchen and spied out of the corner of my eye, the free sample of coffee I got in town. No one was around, no one could see me slyly tease out one of the sachets, slip it into my mug and proceed to craft my very first coffee. 

For someone who habitually hangs out in coffee shops, it’s unusual that I’ve never enjoyed coffee. I tried my dad’s a couple of times as a kid and the taste was always horrible, despite the heavenly smell that flooded the room every time the pot went on. So I guess it was curiosity too that led me to this. There’s also a huge culture about coffee, and I’m slightly jealous of people who appreciate it, because it does look delicious, and to have a coffee machine making that delightful aroma each morning, that is the dream. However, I’ve never been able to get over the horrid taste. 

I was at the point of no return, the water was in and foam swilled around the spoon in my cappuccino, copious amounts of prophylactic milk and sugar were added, I wanted to give myself a fighting change of withstanding the beverage. This was it. 

One reason I’ve given over the years for my indifference to the beverage was that I didn’t want that monkey on my back, a valid assertion as I know several people, especially medics, who started taking coffee and now are as near as makes no difference, taking it i.v. Given, one of my good friends, Ben, does manage most days on 3-4 hours sleep, but I do quite enjoy mine… 

I was in utter disbelief, I didn’t spit it out straight away, It wasn’t disgusting, it wasn’t as vile as my childhood memories would have me believe! I still didn’t make it through the whole drink and for the entire time I was subconsciously expecting another drink to get rid of the taste before my next sip, so I wouldn’t say I’m completely converted either. 

It won’t be replacing my stalwart hot chocolate anytime soon, it’s not going to peg hot cocoa off the post, it’s not even a threat for warm milk, however, I wouldn’t mind giving it another go.

Does this make me an adult now? 

B

3 comments

  1. purelymad · April 25, 2014

    If you’re taste buds aren’t ready for the big leagues yet (mine aren’t either) do half hot chocolate and half coffee – sweet enough to enjoy but still gives you a caffeine kick!

    Like

  2. brybry1993 · April 25, 2014

    Hmmm, that’s what I’ve always imagined a mocha to be, I’ll give it a go next time I hit rock bottom with work!

    Like

  3. Pingback: TAP « Bryan.

Lemme know what you think!

