One year on, Liebsters and all

Today, I’ve just discovered, marks my first full year of blogging!

This blog was created in a mood of general angst, in a search for a substantial means of catharsis that was less time-consuming than drawing, but less transient than paper (I honestly lose stuff everywhere in my room). That initial mood gave way to an apathy really, as life got somewhat less dramatic, then a fervour as I finished exams and began exploring photography. I guess this post is here to take stock on the year, on why I blog, and is more for myself than anyone else, so I wouldn’t blame you if you stopped reading right about now!

why did you start blogging?

If I’m honest, to have a bit of a rant and a bit of a moan, to be able to review books and generally geek out about little things that not many people care about, to find like minded people and to just take stock of life.

have you learned anything from blogging?

There’s something substantial about committing thoughts to writing, it forces you to reflect on your experiences and what you feel, and like a diary, gives you the pleasure of looking back in time into a past you. Lots of my friends did gap years, and had amazing times abroad, volunteering, working and gaining new experiences, and I guess I’ve always been pretty academic in pursuits. It’s easy, when you’re stuck in that cycle of intense work and condensed down time, to appreciate the little things in life, and see the extra in the ordinary. Come to think of it. I think that’s why I love photography so much, because it takes what you see every day and shows you hidden beauty in a lot of places many wouldn’t look.

why do you keep blogging? 

It’s a creative outlet, I would recommend it to anyone as a place to express your interests. It’s thanks to this that I would call myself a photographer, I doubt I would have got so into it if I wasn’t constantly getting inspired by other bloggers sharing their lives through their photographs. Facebook is great, but with content being added every second, it’s nice taking time out of your day to write a little, edit a little, think a little harder about what you’re sharing with the world.

I also have a Liebster from Pippa, that I never got around to filling, and this is a good a time as ever!

what would you do being alone for a day?

If I had nothing else to do, I would probably redecorate my room and sketch out the map of London I’ve been meaning to hang up for months now

if you could travel to space, would you go? 

Definitely! It’s difficult to watch videos like the Space Oddity without dying a little with jealousy. Floating in zero-g would be one of the coolest things ever! (albeit, for the first few days, then I’d get a bit sick of the space food ..)

if you could have a superpower, what would it be? 

This one’s easy, flight! Wouldn’t you wish to fly?!

where is your favourite place in the world? 

Coffee shops. Hate coffee, love the smell!

how do you want to be remembered?

As a friend

what is your favourite colour?

#30BCD1

My nominations 

The photography of Charles Hildreth – probably one of my favourite portrait photographers, fantastic work

Ben – you should blog more, fantastic thoughts

Immi – I love your blog!

My questions

Why do you blog?

What’s your favourite hobby and why?

First food that comes to your head, go!

What song describes your mood?

Favourite quote?

Best time of your life? or, Has anyone ever said anything to you that changed your life?

What is your favourite kitchen gadget/utensil?

 

B

 

 

Lemme know what you think!

