Serotonin, cortisol, cholecalciferol, insulin

There aren’t words to describe that feeling when you leave your house and start riding, to realise halfway through that you don’t have a jacket on, and frankly, you don’t care; the sun has graced us with its presence over the last week and it has been wonderful!

Most of the weekend was spent at a camp training day where suddenly things began to get real, I may very well be flying to America! The whole thing was very cliché and American, led by this guy Stu who is probably the most energetic person I’ve ever met, making us scream at the tops of our voices and do ridiculous things, which, to my amazement, everyone was getting into the swing of by the end of it with their “aye aye captain!’s here and their “hoo-raah”s there, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy it a little either!

After stopping to take a cheeky picture of a barista machine though, I had the mortifying experience of thinking I’d lost my camera, freaking out the 4 guys in the carriage with me from training as I blindly dialled 0845 number after 0845 number (dad’s gonna love this next month..) in a frenzy of adrenaline and fear, thinking I had left it on the floor of the platform as I re-arranged my bag. With the station manager dialled in and a very shaken me sat on a return train to Croydon, lo and behold, it was in the laptop compartment… in my bag… all along… embarrassment too deep for words swept over me after the initial waves of relief, such a classic me thing to do! I think I now understand, first hand, the shepherd and his 99 sheep or the lady and her missing coin, wow!

This all meant I was late for my own dinner party, which I ended up recruiting the help of the guests to make – unorthodox I know (cue Dave Lamb!?). We ended up making burnt nachos and chilli to go in our burritos, however, they were delicious! If I do say so myself. The highlight was definitely the Oreo milkshake. So rich, so good!

I’m not really sure how useful being a medical student is, if on the one hand I’m blending biscuits ice cream and milk, and the next day I’m writing an essay on holistic management of type II diabetes. I feel there’s a lesson in here, somewhere…

B

DSC_0112 DSC_0114 DSC_0110 DSC_0123 DSC_0125

Lemme know what you think!

