Bryan, #19, male

Bryan, #19, male

I spent my valentine’s in lectures, getting horrendously soaked, talking about diabetes …and speed dating.

My friend is on the committee for a charity sponsoring medical students that otherwise can’t afford training and they were running one tonight. These types of things totally aren’t me for so many reasons, but with some coercion and something else I can’t quite put down, I decided to turn up!

It’s the weirdest, most surreal thing I’ve done for a while. You rotate around tables of people, who you talk to for 4 minutes, before you have to move on to the next one and indicate through a ‘yes’ or a ‘no’ whether or not you’d be interested in seeing them more. The ‘dates’ fell on a spectrum, from the uncomfortably silent (only one, pretty impressed), to the they-already-know-you-but-you’re-completely-oblivious-of-their-existence, to the chatty, to the funny, to the hilarious! I thought four minutes with a total stranger was going to be really long, but often it wasn’t long enough, and you get cut off just as you’re getting to know someone!

If you, like me, have never done anything of the sort before, I’d highly recommend it, if not just to push yourself out of your comfort zone, as it did for me! You’re forced to talk to people you probably otherwise would never do, and like me, meet people on your course you didn’t even know exist! So give it ago!

B

p.s. In the interest of full disclosure, no, I very much doubt I did/will find love/fulfilment/’the one’ on tonight’s endeavour, it seems like the only thing that hooked up tonight is my coat!

Lemme know what you think!

