Impervius

Today marked the first time I wore contacts for a whole day. After 8 or 9 years of wearing glasses, this is a big thing for me. Not that I don’t like wearing glasses, in fact, I love it. They’ve become an extension to my face which makes this whole experience all the weirder.

If you are a fellow specky-four-eyes, you’ll be familiar with some of the downsides of needing to wear them, the most common being near-blinding fog as you move from a cold room to a hot room, the jarring panic when you think you’ve lost them in the dark and rain.

To test them out, I took a walk through some woods with my camera (forgetting the memory card in my computer, rookie mistake, making this nothing more than an oversized necklace) at which point it started raining. Instinctively, I looked down to avoid what would have been my glasses getting wet, but instead, my eyes got wet. This may not sound like much but it’s the single strangest feeling ever. Like that video on YouTube where an 8 month old baby gets this hearing implant and it’s turned on for the first time. Amazing.

I wouldn’t say I’m completely won over, it still took me roughly an hour to fit them this morning, but I’ll definitely keep some lying around.

B

Image

Lemme know what you think!

