Friends

So I’m at university, and it’s gotten to that time of year where we have to move out of halls and decide who we’re living with next year, which is not usually a stressful time, for most, least of all for me seeing as one of my friends ‘ uncles is actually a student real estate agent and got us a sweet hook up. So why am I writing this?

Today, I had an … unusual CU meeting in that we actually met in a pub! Some of you may think that’s strange and perhaps not even biblical but I can tell you with certainty that it was one of the best meetings I’ve been to. We sat around the hired upstairs room, on sofas and chairs, around a big table and chatted about how God is bigger than exams and what our ambitions were for our future lives and whether we felt that those were God’a ambitions for us, but that’s another story. All the while, I couldn’t help but feel this incredible peace exuding from them all, it was like I didn’t have to try anymore, no masks, no veils, no acts, just me, and they were cool with that. It just felt like such a relief from what life is with the rest of the guys sometimes, pressure of always needing to be the funny guy, re reading messages twice before you send them to the group, holding back on saying something because you don’t think people will find it funny enough, it’s hard work!

This whole shake up, I guess, leads back to that recent talk about the inner circle, and I’m finding that it actually affects more of my life than id bargained for. It’s just such a struggle all the time trying to hold on to that position when actually, there are better things to do with my life!

So that’s where I am, at the moment, I don’t know how well it will work our, but I’m hoping, praying, that God has something even better in store for me. For now, just letting go of what I think to be my life is the challenge, how well I’ll do, we’ll see!

Although very much easier said than done, this is keeping me going:

James 1:2 – “Count it all joy, my brothers, [2] when you meet trials f of various kinds, 3for you know that g the testing of your faith h produces steadfastness. 4And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be i perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

Rom 5:3 -“rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering g produces endurance, 4and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, 5and h hope does not put us to shame”

Bry

Lemme know what you think!

